Frequently asked questions (FAQ) for projects

How can I get an overview over multiple projects at the same time?

There are several possibilities:

  1. To see only the projects without their work packages go to the Projects overview (“View all projects”)
  2. For work packages of all projects click on Modules -> Work packages in the upper right hand corner (9 squares) to access the global work packages list. Use the view configuration to group the work packages by project.
  3. Go to the Project overview or the work package list of a project with subprojects, add the widget “Work package table” and set the filter “Including subproject”. Find more information on this topic here. Additionally you could add the column “Progress”.
  4. Add the widget “Work package table” to your My Page and set the filter mentioned above. Find more information on this topic here. Additionally you could add the column “Progress”.

We will introduce further similar functions in the course of implementing multi-project management, this is planned for the next few years.

What is the difference between creating a project from a template and copying the template project?

Creating a project from a template and copying projects serve slightly different purposes: Project templates provide an easy way to create a new project while copying all the data (as far as supported) of the source project. Copying projects provides more flexibility: You can choose which data to copy from the source project. Please note that choosing not to copy certain project data may lead to errors (e.g. when work packages are assigned to users who are not copied along with the project).

We have different departments in our company and need projects by departments. Can I use sub-projects for the departments?

Yes, that is in most cases the best solution.

In OpenProject, you can work agilely according to Scrum (backlogs) or Kanban (boards). Versions in OpenProject represent a “container” that contains the work packages to be processed. Versions serve a double function: On the one hand, you can use them to plan your product releases, and on the other hand, you can use them to map the product backlog(s) and sprints required for Scrum. As soon as you have created at least one version in a project, the module “Roadmap” is displayed on the left side in your project, which you can use to get an overview of the versions (intended primarily for releases). The Backlogs module uses versions to map the product backlog or sprints. By using the backlog, however, some special rules occur: For example, tasks must be assigned to the same version as the associated (parent) work packages. If you do not work according to Scrum we would recommend to deactivate the Backlogs module and use the Boards module instead. If you have activated the boards module you can create a version board. You can find an example here.

Can I assign work packages in subprojects to versions of the parent project?

Yes, it is possible; set the sharing option for the version to “with sub project”.

Is it possible to hide or remove fields in the project settings (like status, status description)?

You can’t remove fields/attributes that are no custom fields. However, you can hide them in the projects overview.

How do I reopen an archived project?

Go to the projects overview (“View all projects”) and change the filter to not only include active projects. Then choose the archived project you want to reopen and click on the three dots at the right end of its row. Click on Unarchive there.

How can I un-archive subprojects?

Please navigate to the global projects overview and change the filter to include non-active projects. If you take a look at the project name on the left side (in front of “ARCHIVED project name”) there should be an arrow. It is not possible to directly unarchive subprojects (without their parent project) since then it would be unclear in which hierarchy they should be located. However, you should be able to unarchive the parent project. Once you have done this, the “unarchive” option should be shown for the project and you can unarchive it. Afterwards, you could adjust the hierarchy of the child project (which you originally wanted to unarchive). This way you can archive / unarchive it independently of its parent project.